Happy New Year!

IMG_2171

Hi there,

I just wanted to pop in really quick and wish you all the best in 2015!!!  2014 brought me a lot of sadness with a light sprinkling of happiness which blossomed into a serious attitude adjustment. I feel like I’ve been evolving, making peace with things that I cannot change, and using that as a springboard towards things that I want for myself. For a long time I felt like making New Year resolutions was pointless, as I would hardly ever accomplish them. This year though, I will be making many, with crazy abandon, because even if I accomplish only one resolution, at the end of 2015 I will be in a better situation than I was at the end of 2014. Drumroll, please!

1. Continue sewing and stash busting (doh!)

2. Learn to play harmonica!

3. Participate in Popsugar Reading Challenge. I love to read, and I read a lot, but this time I want to get a bit more focused in my choices. Less Facebook, more book.

4. Another crazy challenge: Sketch-a-Day. At one point in my life visual arts were a huge part of it, and now I would like to rekindle this passion. Who knows what comes out of it?

5. Stick to blogging, and be more regular about it. Writing brings me great joy, and I want to do whatever brings me joy. And so…

6. Do whatever brings me joy. Don’t do stuff that make me miserable. Simple enough in theory!

Now, sewing talk. See the sparkly number above? I though it would be appropriate to share this, as New Year Eve is one of those nights that you cannot NOT wear sparklies… It started out about year and a half ago, as a dress which was based on my favourite T-shirt, with sheer, bell-shaped sleeves. Somehow I ended up with a hugely low neckline (I suspect the weight of the fabric might have something to do with it). I tried to salvage the situation by adding this stupid ruffly thing all around the neckline, but there was no use… The dress served as my Hottie cover-up (Hottie is my dress form. I named her Hottie, because I stuffed her boobs to correspond to my size, but I did not stuff her stomach, which resulted in ridiculously hot figure for said dress form).

PicMonkey Collage

See the white peeking through from underneath the neckline? That’s Hottie’s bra… There was no way I would go anywhere in such a dress… In a flash of inspiration, I hacked off the sleeves, hacked off the stupid frill, took off about 1.5″ off the shoulder seams (in the front, and in the back), yadda, yadda, yadda, all finished an hour later! Year and I half in the making, hurray!!!

IMG_2178

 

I hope you dance like no one/everyone is watching. Let 2015 be the year of fun and hope, and new, crazy challenges! Will you be making any resolutions?

 

PS. More resolutions: get my driver’s licence, do a Tough Mudder, get more active with my kid, lose some weight, sew up a slipcover for my couch, put more effort into making new friends and “maintaining” old ones, meditate/gaze inwards daily… I’m sure more resolutions will be coming up along the way…

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Happy New Year Jagoda – we haven’t run into each other for a while, nice to “see” you! I’m still pondering resolutions – but thinking more along the lines of a general guide than hard line must dos. Hope 2015 brings you lots of good stuff, and to meet up again soon!

    • Thanks Chloe! I also wish you all the best in the New Year! Yes, let’s do some running into each other, anyone planning any get-togethers, swaps, or something? Anyone???

  2. As always a great post, Jagoda. 2014 was filled with sadness for my family too, so I cannot wait to have a happier 2015. Your dress is amazing, and the new hair colour is very fetching!

    • Hi Sue, may this year be filled with joy, and fun, and sewing, and more fun and happiness! Wishing you and your family all the best in 2015!!!
      And thank you for your generous compliments… As always…

Leave a Reply

