Totally weird print…

You know the fabric which is just lovely in every possible way, except the print is so weirdly placed that it’s really difficult to work with? Like this…

IMG_1033…charcoal-grey rayon knit, with the loveliest and most awkwardly spaced pattern. It cost me a pretty penny (even though I bought it on sale), but who could resist this majestic, technicolor lotus blossom? So beautiful and large, positioned so close to the salvage edge, so annoying to work with, due to the scale and placement of the flowers… A year ago I used some of this fabric to make a tunic for work (picture below), and I practically lived in it. You can see how faded the colours are…

PicMonkey Collage

See? The lotus is really huge, and for this top I had to place it off-centre (the side seam is practically one of the salvages), and leave the sleeves plain.  I was left with about 3/4 of a yard (i.e. two lotuses) of this knit, which kept whispering my name every time I entered the sewing  dungeon. So often I held the precious yardage in my arms, loving the feel and look of it, and always having to put it back, not knowing what to do with it. Until one day, Vogue 8925 appeared on my radar, from which I previously made a grey “shlomping around the house” tee (not blogged, because what for?), aka View B. I really wanted to play with colour blocking, and decided that the lotuses will be perfect for the sleeves, and I managed to cut out the side panels out of the precious little that I had left of the plain stuff, and…

IMG_1699

IMG_1704

Ta-daaaaaaaaaaaaa! As per alternations, I took off over an inch from both the centre front and CB, to fit my shoulders better (which resulted in me having to cut the neckline a bit bigger), and I added the band on the bottom and on the sleeve cuffs, which tied the whole thing together nicely.

Can I just tell you how much I love this top? I love the colours, I love the blocking effect, and I love how nicely my arms blend with the surroundings. And no, I did NOT plan to have the top match my hair colour EXACTLY… Yet, I remain victorious!

11 thoughts on “Totally weird print…

    • Oh, Angela, I’m torn between softly saying “thank you” (followed by a blush and batting eyelashes), and a loud “I KNOW, RIGHT?” But seriously, YOU ROCK!

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE it! Great job! I would wear that thing everywhere! Maybe even to church! (It would keep the old men awake). Great idea to use it for the sleeves. And… the color blocking on the front is very slimming! Think I’ll try that! Cuz if I can lose weight sewing instead of walking on that treadmill I’m all over it! The band around the bottom really makes it. I am impressed

    • Well, sewing is a good workout, actually! If you do your cutting on the floor, it’s better than yoga. And with all that ironing that you do, it is quite a decent upper body workout. Don’t let anybody tell you otherwise! But yes, one cannot go wrong with panels!

Leave a Reply

