The easiest dress ever!

Howdy!

For a long time a bad sewing mojo seemed to have been hanging over me, like a purplish-blue cloud. Oh no, that’s my hair! NOTHING was coming out right. Not even a t-shirt… My frustrations were overwhelming, until the time I reminded myself: Hey, it’s supposed to be fun! It’s supposed to be relaxing! Start from the beginning!

PicMonkey Collage2

So I did…Enter the Perfect Pattern Parcel #3. I bought it because Oona said to buy it. I made the Bombshell swimsuit too, but I still have some major bumps to deal with (the ones in the front, namely)… In the meantime I decided to make the Staple Dress by April Rhodes, it promised to be quick and dirty, just how I like it… And it was. No darts, no closures, only 4 pattern pieces, and if you use pre-made bias tape, there are only 2 pattern pieces! Unheard of!!! I was a little bit afraid it would look too baggy if I cut XXL, and too tight in the chest if I cut XL, so I cut the front XXL and XL back, because I was too lazy to grade between the sizes. Seemed to have worked out OK. Except the neckline was gaping, so I put a little pleat in the middle.

IMG_1057
I know you can’t really see the pleat on the neckline, or the collar too clearly, it was 2 PM, and that was the only time I could take pictures… Sorry!

After I put the dress together, it looked quite plain and I wanted to jazz it up a bit. I used small, rectangular studs to make a little pretend collar. I love it!

IMG_1107Another thing that I changed in this pattern is the sleeve. It was just a simple cap sleeve, but I cut a rounded slit on it, since a cap sleeve tends to add optically to my horizontal dimensions…

PicMonkey Collage

I also omitted shirring the waist. I tried, lord knows I tried… My machine has a top-loading bobbin, so there is a bit of surgery required, as two YouTube videos assured me, but supposedly one can do shirring on such a machine. Not only did I fail miserably with the shirring, but also I had a super-hard time getting the bobbin tension to where it should be for normal sewing. Must have taken me at least an hour, with this stupid tiny screwdriver, screwing the screwditty-doo. Belts, belts I tell ya!

But hey, all is well that ends well. I put the dress on at 2PM to take pictures, and I did not take it off at all until the bath time. I likeyyyyyyyy, it’s comfy and simple and polka-dotty.

So, what can you recommend to a girl to help her break through a bad spell of no sew-jo?

Until soon!

 

7 thoughts on “The easiest dress ever!

  1. I think you have the right approach to the sewing mojo blues. Do something simple (2 pattern pieces? where is this pattern??) and enjoy the making and the wearing. Great job on this!

  2. Are those tiny, baby stars on that fabric? Tremendous! Also, I think that the stud collar is quirky and fabulous. This dress looks perfect for staying cool in the summer heat. Love it!

  3. Thank you Angela! The fabric is actually polka dot, but I waaaaaaaay prefer the baby stars idea… Hmmmmmm, do you think they actually sell such fabric anywhere? Would be nice….

Leave a Reply

