I think I’m in Love…

Earlier today I made two garments, both are promising to be my spring/summer favourites. I feel that everybody involved in the process of making these should be thanked. So here we go:

1) Thank you McCaul, for putting out M6754. Terribly cute pattern, and I’ve been dying to make it since last summer. Also, it is a terribly silly pattern. Or it is great if you are a person who is comfortable with seeing your bellybutton through your front neckline, and your butt-crack through the back neckline. When I made the first version of View A the only thing that I liked about it was the placement of the bust darts. I liked them enough to go on with another muslin… Interestingly enough, both of the following versions have darts that go too high. Oh well, I think they make my bewbs look perkier, no?

2) Thank you to my sister-in-law. She wears horizontal stripes like no one else, she wears them all the time, big stripes, small stripes, and what-not stripes, and ALWAYS rocks them. You see, I am intimidated by horizontal stripes, and a lot of my stash involves stripes, because I love stripes. My SIL has a very similar physique to mine, she might be 1″taller than I, and is equally apple-shaped, so there is no reason why she should rock those stripes, but not I!? It’s all about attitude, yo! You wanna see what I made yet?

IMG_0608

IMG_0606

3) I also would like to thank The Stashbusting Sewalong 2014 group, who are such a swell bunch of gals! This month’s theme is COLOURS! I love all the colours, I sew all sorta koo-koo hues, but I got to thinking about sewing for work, or for when I cannot match a jacket to a dress, because all of the clothes that I make are so crazy colour-wise. So I’ve decided to make me a dress out of the plainest piece of knit that I had: medium weight, grey t-shirt fabric, 100% cotton with not a lot of stretch. I thought of it as a plain canvas, on which one might hang a crazy jacket or a sick belt. When I put it on after I attached the skirt to the bodice, I gasped. It was the most understated but also elegant piece of clothing that I made. The way the skirt hung, how the fabric skimmed my body without clinging to my rolls… Love at first sight!

IMG_0616

IMG_0623

And just to prove a point about it being a canvas on which one might hang things, I tied a piece of random cord around my waist, to mimic a sick belt, of course:

IMG_0628

See how pretty? Point proven…

4) Thank you wind, for blowing some nice weather this way, perfect for taking pictures:

IMG_0598

IMG_0630

17 thoughts on “I think I’m in Love…

  1. Oh no! That last photo has me in stitches! LOVE the stripy top and your blank canvas dress. It looks great and you’ll have so much fun throwing on all the crazies with it. I love all your crazy koo coo colors by the way! They make my day happy!

    • Thank you Emily! I will be making me lots of shorts, just for moments like that one… As for the colours, I think that’s why they were invented, to make people happy, cheers!

  2. Your post has cheered me up no end. You totally rock stripes! You totally rock plains as well!! Laughing out loud here (admin assistant just asked me what I’m laughing about – oops, should be working!)

  3. LOL @ that wind!!

    Those garments are GORGEOUS! Girl, you worked that horizontal striped peplum like it was nobody’s business. And, that gray dress looks so comfy and perfect for warm weather. Great job!

  4. Love both garments and the photos. I think the dress will be great for work, you should make more in lots of colours – the dress could become your work uniform!

  5. You make me laugh! I love reading your posts. Thank you for sharing your entertaining stories with us. I really like the striped top! and really? with your hair you’re worried about too many colors?

Leave a Reply

