Letting go…

It’s been becoming more and more apparent to me that I need to let go more. I am a person that gets attached to people, causes, routines, unnecessary scraps of fabric, and what not. When things are over, it is hard to let go. I sometimes agonize about things that happened years ago, and any homegrown psychologist will tell you how unhealthy such behaviour can be. It is time to stop, and since sewing became such a coping tool and metaphor  for my life the only logical thing to do is to join the….

STASHBUSTING SEWALONG 2014!!! (I will add the button when I have the code for the button, for now the link will have to do).

So here’s my pledge:

I, Jagoda of fitnottofit.worpress.com pledge to decrease my stash by at least 3/4 (probably approx. 2,4597,841 yards) by the end of this year. I will not purchase fabric for any of my projects, unless I really, really, really need it. I will also restrain from buying patterns from the Big 4, but I will GENTLY support indie pattern makers. Furthermore, I will curb my binge of Craftsy courses (damn you Craftsy, why do you have to be so good?). I may purchase only 1 course every 3 months. Therefore, I would highly encourage my friends and relatives, and other enablers, to gift me fabric, especially if it’s awesome. Please and thank you very much. 

IMG_0201So here’s my stash, innocent enough, right? Not so, considering that I have more stuff in the laundry room, and also on another shelf. I also have boxes and boxes and bags of scraps, which are larger than an elbow patch and smaller than half a yard. So I gathered all of that stuff, dumped it on the floor, and I got a pile 2 feet tall.

PicMonkey Collage

All this stuff! I separated everything by it’s kind, and my attention zeroed in on a bunch of flannelette baby blankets that I saved since my son was a baby. Why? Apparently, to eventually make me a PJ top! I guess that counts for letting go in some way, no? I used Butterick 5932 view B with some modifications, as I was limited by the dimensions of the blankies. I actually used one double-sided blanket, and another single-sided. Just a warning, the pictures are showing off all the wrinkles on the material, somebody might or might not have been sitting on the garment while composing this blog entry.

PicMonkey Collagepj
Heavily modified neck treatment, sure as hell I was not going to have a neck facing in my PJs!
PicMonkey Collagedetail
A little detail. Two rows of contrasting topstitching around the cuff and neckband, a little bias trim bow by each elbow, and the crown…
IMG_0211
…is there to let people know the function that I have in this house. I needed to break up the plainness of the back, and a crown was better than a heart or something…

So here we are! I enjoyed this project, as I purposely did not do any fitting. It was easy, and it made me feel good that I can still hang on to that blanket, rather than give it away or throw it out. Maybe it’s my security blanket… Maybe I’m totally missing the point… And you know what’s funny? 95% of the time I sleep in the buff. Maybe I’m totally missing the point…

9 thoughts on “Letting go…

  1. Good luck with your stashbusting pledge! I know how you feel, with some fabrics, i’m actually afraid to cut into them with fears that I may ‘ruin’ it or not make the ‘right’ thing with it. I think its good to remember, it’s just fabric. The top you made is so cute with the little bows!

Leave a Reply

