Winter Purse

No denying it, fall is almost here! As I am still agonizing about making a winter coat (and currently I have fabric for at least 3 different coats and probably 7 patterns which I really like), I made a winter purse. So I can “warm up” to this whole winter sewing gradually, you know… I’ve wanted to make a purse for a while now, and finally I bit the bullet and purchased the purse making class on Craftsy. I have to admit, I did not think it would turn out so well, have a look!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Front. This twist-clasp is from Fabricland.

I got the grey plaid wool fabric that I used for the exterior from Debbie at the summer Toronto Bloggers meeting and swap, and the pink faux-suede (aka 100% polyester) was from my own stash. I did not settle on the choice of the fabric until I got most of the hardware, which pretty much dictated the rest of the design process of this purse. I visited Leather & Sewing Supply Depot, where I bought this awesome do-hicky:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADid you know that Leather & Sewing S.D. has moved, dear Torontonians? They are now located at 204 Spadina, not far from where they were located before. They did have tons of all sort of purse hardware, but most of it was quite basic. I did manage to buy what I thought I wanted, but what totally blew my mind was the zippers. That store has THE BEST and coolest selection of zippers. But I digress… Here’s more pictures:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Fancy purse-feet and hard bottom!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Back view. Oh I tried so hard to match the pattern, which I mostly succeeded in doing, although it resulted in the pocket being off-centre. But you wouldn’t have noticed it, had I not pointed it out, right?
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bird’s eye view
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
All the guts and glory: zippered pocket, and a divided pocket on the other side, and a magnetic clasp closure

And you know what’s totally ironic? I splurged on the dress form, and instead of padding her up and sewing up a storm of awesomely fitted clothes, I’ve been sewing stuff that does not require a dress form at all… Alright form-lady, make yourself useful, model my purse for the nice readers!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Her shoulders are way too slopey, the purse would not stay on. Not likely I’ll wear it like this…

I really enjoyed the whole process. This is the very first purse I’ve made in my entire life, and I think I’m hooked.  Designing, assembling, and sewing a purse is a fairly complex process, requiring a level of concentration that I hardly am capable of.  But I pulled it off. Now please excuse me, I’m heading to Craftsy to buy me the Leather Purse class.  Or maybe I should clean this up?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nah!

4 thoughts on “Winter Purse

    • Anna, I would never inflict an untested item on one of my friends! I will make more purses, and hopefully one of them will be worthy to be a birthday present for you (or Christmas present). But seriously, I’m very flattered that you’re reading the blog! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

