I love you Gertie! I have boobs!

Hello there, I’m back from a little vacation, freshly baked and tan-line enriched in spite of wearing SPF 60 THE WHOLE TIME. Yes, we were camping in THAT heatwave. We were camping in a tent. It was effin hot! But pretty!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThese days I seem to be playing catch-up, with almost everything in my life. To keep with this tradition, let me fill you in on this major revelation that I had maybe 2 months ago. You see, I bought Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing. I will not be reviewing it, since everyone else has already reviewed it backwards and forwards. Let me just tell you that I loved it, sooooooo so much, in so many different ways! And the patterns! Gasp! Immediately I decided to start with the Portrait Blouse. Ugh. Why does it look so good on her, and so bad on me? Then I decided that it must have been the “sleeves”, they were just too sticky-outy on me. So I decided to cut the sleeve a bit shorter, with an intention of making a few copies of the blouse, eventually turning it into a tank. Also, I did not bother with the tucks on the front and back, since I wanted a bit more room in the waist. Version #1 turned out like this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASomething was off. Those folds just above my boobs? Yeeeeees, that’s it! But I did a nice job with the self-made bias binding around the sleeves and neckline.

Version #2 turned out like this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMore tank-y, and I took care of the folds by pinching out the excess fabric above my bust and making darts. It helped. This print struck  me as being very feminine, so I kicked it up a notch by adding a lace trim to the hem:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Isn’t it pretty? I love this print…

Version #3 went like this:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI made it out of a beach cover-up that my mother-in-law brought me from Thailand or Bangladesh or something like that, gazillion years ago. I was quite convinced that I washed it before, after all there must have been a beach excursion that I wore it to? So I did not  pre-wash it. It turned out nice, same bias tape technique around neck and armholes. More of a tank. I wore it, I washed it. And…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It shrunk! So much! Awwwwwwwww…

So what’s my point here? Sure, pre-wash no matter what, bla, bla, bla… My point is that I need a full-bust adjustment! I had to put myself through the whole “reinventing the wheel” (aka pinching out the folds above my bust and making darts nonsense), just so I could be faced with a hard reality that I have boobs. Above average, whether I like it or not. There is no way around it, no use pretending that I’m a B cup. Now that I’ve settled and accepted this fact (as I mentioned before, this happened about 2 months ago), I pondered why it is that those who have them, try to ignore and deny them, or simply hate them. Those who don’t have so much of them covet the extra flesh, and often will pay big fat bucks to have the appearance of having bigger boobs. Human nature is truly boggling. It finally dawned on me that I needed to accept my body the way it is. If I want to sew fitting clothes, I need to sew for  my body the way it is, not the way I pretend it is… This realization of self-acceptance feels good: I am not angry at my body, just like I was angry when I realized I needed a swayback adjustment. I’m finding it amazing that I’m learning self-acceptance through sewing. Amazing!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Or maybe I should just suck it in, and look confident, like it was meant to be so tight?

Care to share what sewing taught you?

PS. Off I go back to portrait blouse pattern to do the FBA, just to discover that the bust apex is not marked on the pattern… Bleh!

12 thoughts on “I love you Gertie! I have boobs!

  1. I think all three of your tops look good! But yes, an full-bust adjustment is probably worth doing… after all, boobs always look nicer when the clothes fit well! If you’ve got ’em, flaunt ’em! 🙂

    • We all have something we should flaunt, I say! But really, it’s all about balance… And fit… And awesome people who compliment the stuff you make! Thank you Gillian!

  2. I really love this post. I went through a pretty similar process a few years ago as well! What helped me is when I realized that there are 88 different figure variations… so a figure that varies in many ways is actually NORMAL. 🙂
    xo adrienne
    P.s.: I’m definitely in that second category of women who wish they has boobs. What I find mind-boggling are women who call their FBA a “problem”. But I understand, yeah. lol.

    • Thanks for sharing, Adrienne! This last 7 months have been so illuminating for me, making my own clothes really taught me a lot about my attitude towards myself and the world in general. And you are right, if you vary you are NORMAL! As for boob sizes, there was a time when I was an A cup (I was super-skinny in my early twenties), and having experienced both sides of the coin I will tell you anytime that smaller is better. Just saying… LOL!

  3. I’m finding it amazing that I’m learning self-acceptance through sewing. Amazing! I couldn’t agree with you more. I follow many sewing blogs and we are all so diverse. I am a full figured 50 year old who loves clothes. I am at a sewing class at The Make Den on Bloor St. and learning to make a jacket just for me. Keep embracing who you are!

  4. I like your tops Jagoda. It’s too bad the last one shrunk. I’ve shrunk many a thing due to improper washing, it sucks. I have heard many folks that have to do an FBA so there should be lots of info on how to do it. For me, I usually have to alter tops and do an SBA so that the top doesn’t gape. We all have something to adjust to fit our bodies. That’s why they invented the term ‘custom fit’.

  5. I inherited my less ample bosom from my mother. I used to hate being flat-chested. She used to say that she bought her boobs at Sears (department store) and was happy to hang them on the bedpost at night! So now I smile when I put the padded/water/push-up away in the drawer and sleep on my stomach! 🙂
    We all have to learn to accept and enjoy what we have.

Leave a Reply

